Historic Preservation Commission

The Town of Normal Historic Preservation Commission was established in 1990 and consists of 7 members appointed by the Mayor and Council.  The Commission's duties and powers are set forth in Section 15.16 of the Town of Normal Municipal Code and summarized below.

If you are interested in serving on this commission, please fill out an Interest Form.  Your information will be kept on file and considered as vacancies arise.


  • To identify historically and architecturally significant properties, structures and areas in the Town of Normal
  • To recommend designation of properties or structures having special historic, community, or architectural value as "landmarks" or "historic districts"
  • To advise and assist owners of landmarks or historic district properties on preservation, renovation, and rehabilitation
  • To review Certificate of Appropriateness applications for construction, alteration, removal or demolition projects of proposed or designated landmarks or historic district properties 
  • To administer the Robert G. Bone Grant Program, which offers financial assistance in the restoration and preservation of eligible, exterior features of locally designated historic properties


  • 12:30 p.m.
  • Second Tuesday of each month
  • Uptown Station, 3rd Floor                                Illinois Terminal Conference Room              11 Uptown Circle                                        Normal, IL 61761
  • Applications due at the end of each month for the following month's agenda
  • Always open to the public
  • Free parking in the attached parking deck

Members and Term Expiration Dates

Anne Matter, Chairperson
Nancy Armstrong
Zachary Boerger
Todd Bugg
Kathy Burgess
Chris Niebur
Vacant Position  


Available prior to the meetings
Most Recent Agenda
View All Agendas


Available following the commission's approval
Most Recent Minutes
View All Minutes


Available prior to the meeting
Most Recent Report
View All Reports