Directory

Staff Person & General Responsibilities

Greg Troemel, Director of Inspections
(309) 454-9580 |
gtroemel@normal.org

Oversees department administration of zoning, building, housing and property maintenance codes.  Principally involved in front end procedures and approvals for land use and development in the community.

Mercy Davison, Town Planner
(309) 454-9590 |
mdavison@normal.org

Administers and implements zoning, subdivision and associated land uses ordinances.  Serves as liaison to the Historic Preservation, Uptown Design, and Planning Commissions, and the Zoning Board of Appeals.  Oversees the Town's Sustainability Plan.

Taylor Long, Associate Planner
(309) 454-9642 |
tlong@normal.org

Assists in the implementation of zoning, subdivision and associated land uses ordinances.  Serves as liaison to the Historic Preservation, Uptown Design, and Planning Commissions, and the Zoning Board of Appeals.  Assists with the implementation of the Town's Sustainability Plan.

Sheila Elgin, Department Associate
(309) 454-9581 |
selgin@normal.org

Manages the daily permit and inspection processes, contractor registration and licensing, public communications, and all department financial accounting and record keeping practices. 

Scot Williams, Assistant Director (Commercial Plans Examiner – Building Inspector)
(309) 454-9582 |
swilliams@normal.org

Manages contractor registration, plan review, permit issuance, and field inspection services for all new or remodeled multifamily and commercial construction.  Coordinates these activities with Engineering, Fire and Water Department staff.

Troy Sondgeroth, Residential Building Inspector
(309) 454-9583 |
tsondgeroth@normal.org

Manages contractor registration, plan review, permit issuance, and field inspection services for all one and two family new or remodeled construction.  This includes fences, garages, sheds, pools, and other accessory structures associated with residential occupancies.

Mike Beavers, Mechanical Inspector
(309) 454-9641 |
mbeavers@normal.org

Manages contractor registration/licensing, plan review, permit issuance, and field inspection services for all installations in residential and commercial new or remodeled construction. Also serves as Safety Committee chairperson for the Town.

Rand Veerman, Electrical Inspector
(309) 454-9588 |
rveerman@normal.org

Manages contractor registration/licensing, plan review, permit issuance, and field inspection services for all electrical installation in residential and commercial new or remodeled construction.  Also responsible to administer the Town's Sign Regulations.

Randy Schoolcraft, Plumbing Inspector
(309) 454-9584 |
rschoolcraft@normal.org

Manages contractor licensing, plan review, permit issuance, and field inspection services for all plumbing installations in new or remodeled residential and commercial construction.  Also locally administers the IEPA's Cross Connection bi-annual survey program.

Justin O'Neil, Code Enforcement Inspector
(309) 454-9644 |
joneil@normal.org

Responsible to administer an annual housing inspection and licensing program for all rental properties including single family and multiple family buildings.  Responds to tenant concerns to assure code compliance.  Proactively monitors exterior maintenance issues on all properties including parking, temporary signage, accumulation of trash or debris, weed growth, graffiti, and various other exterior aesthetic issues.
 

Charlie Lyden, Code Enforcement Inspector
(309) 454-9646 |
clyden@normal.org

Responsible to administer an annual housing inspection and licensing program for all rental properties including single family and multiple family buildings.  Responds to tenant concerns to assure code compliance.  Proactively monitors exterior maintenance issues on all properties including parking, temporary signage, accumulation of trash or debris, weed growth, graffiti, and various other exterior aesthetic issues.